Next Pick: Book Club

So… it is time for my sister and I to choose our next good read for our book club. My sister picked the first book we read which was The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho (review in previous post), so now it is my turn. I don’t know about you guys but I have lists on top of lists of books that I want to read. I even have my lists separated into categories. One of my categories is “Books to Read Before I Graduate.” Although my graduation date is about a year away I have not read any of the books on this list yet. I know, I know, shame on me!!! I figured that now would be the perfect time to start though. However, only one of the books I am suggesting as our next read is off of that list. So I need you guys’ help. Here are the books that I am considering…

1. The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides

Image

2. The Virgin Suicides also by Jeffrey Eugenides

Image

3. Middlesex again by Jeffrey Eugenides

Image

And finally something not by Mr. Eugenides and also the only one to come from my “Read Before Graduating” list…

4. A Prayer for Owen Meaney by John Irving

Image

Now I know you guys might be thinking “so… what is your fascination with Jeffrey Eugenides?” But to be honest with you… these books have been on my TBR (To Be Read) lists for so long, and I have heard some very good things about these books so I thought now would be a good time to suggest them. I mean come on even Ms. Oprah Winfrey herself has recommended some of these books and I mean it’s Oprah!! You can’t go wrong with a recommendation from her… right??

So… here are my picks! What do you guys think? Which one should I go with first? Leave me a comment and let me know if any of you have read any of these and your thoughts and opinions about it. And as always thanks for reading!!

My Signature

About Airess

I am a devoted wife and a loving mom. I started this blog to share some of my life and my experiences with some of my passions from makeup, beauty and fashion to reading and family life.
This entry was posted in Book Club and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Next Pick: Book Club

  1. Kirenia says:

    I love a good book about mystery and suspense, my favorite would have to be “A Prayer for Owen Meany” I might even pick one up for myself 🙂

    • Airess says:

      Thanks Kirenia for the suggestion. I think that is the one I will pick just because I need to get started on this list of books I should read before I graduate! lol

  2. beccahaf says:

    I’ve only read Middlesex, and I thought it was really really good, so I would recommend that! I haven’t gotten round to reading The Marriage Plot yet, even though it’s been sitting on my bookshelf for a while now. I reckon anything by Jeffrey Eugenides is going to be good though! I’m intrigued by Owen Meany though. Let me know if it’s good!
    Becca xx
    P.S. Thank you for the Liebster Award nom!

    Blog | http://www.glowgetterblog.com
    Bloglovin’ | http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10250015/glow-getter

  3. Becca says:

    I’ve only read Middlesex, and I thought it was really really good, so I would recommend that! I haven’t gotten round to reading The Marriage Plot yet, even though it’s been sitting on my bookshelf for a while now. I reckon anything by Jeffrey Eugenides is going to be good though! I’m intrigued by Owen Meany though. Let me know if it’s good!
    Becca xx
    P.S. Thank you for the Liebster Award nom!

    Blog | http://www.glowgetterblog.com
    Bloglovin’ | http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/10250015/glow-getter

Leave a Reply

