DIY: Honey Lemon Mask and Coconut Oil Moisturizer

Last night I decided to finally get around to trying this new skincare mask that my cousin Destane over at DestanesFab recommended to me. I started out by making the honey lemon mask. I wanted to use raw honey for this but I could not find it when I went to my local grocery store so I just went with regular organic honey and of course organic lemons. There are many benefits to using both honey and real lemon juice for acne prone and sensitive skin. Honey has antibacterial and anti-fungal agents that help to get rid of bacteria that causes acne. It detoxes your skin and actually has antioxidants in it as well that help repair damaged skin and wrinkles. Lemon is a natural exfoliant, can remove blackheads, brighten the skin, and can even help to relieve sunburn. So with that being said here are the steps I used to make the mask.

In a small bowl I mixed together the juice of half of a lemon and about 3 tablespoons of honey (or at least enough for it to not be so runny; almost like cough syrup consistency).

honey lemon mask

Before I applied the mask I thoroughly cleansed my face with my Shea Moisture African Black Soap (purchased here). (NOTE: CAUTION!! I would highly recommend you do not use an exfoliating cleanser before applying the mask because it would definitely burn if you did.) Then I just poured some of the mask in my hand and pretty much smeared it all over my face. I am not a big fan of sticky stuff or dirty hands so it felt a little weird at first but it was bearable. I let the mask sit on my face for about 20 minutes trying not to talk. I was also trying not to sweat or be too hot because the heat causes the honey to melt which in turn causes the mask to melt. Here I am with the mask on being brave and showing my problem skin.

My Skin

After I washed the mask off, I then applied the coconut oil to my face and lips and let it sit for about 5 minutes. Just like the other two ingredients, coconut oil is not only good for you when eaten but it also has many beauty benefits if applied topically as well. For example, it is a great moisturizer, it has anti-fungal properties just like the honey, and it is filled with antioxidants which helps to improve the look of your skin. When my 5 minutes was up I just went and splashed my face with water and that was it. I didn’t use my traditional toner or any moisturizers or apply anything to my lips.

This mask is not harsh at all and can be used on all skin types, even sensitive skin. It can also be beneficial to more that just people with acne prone skin as well. It is also safe to be used everyday. I don’t know if I am going to do this everyday or not. I will probably do it every other day as my nightly skincare routine because I already have oily skin and the coconut oil would be too much for the day time under my makeup. This was only my first time using it so of course I don’t have any before and after pictures yet but I will definitely continue to use it and continue to update you guys on my progress. Also, let me know if any of you have tried it or have any other suggestions, I would love to hear from you. As always, thanks for reading.

My Signature

About Airess

I am a devoted wife and a loving mom. I started this blog to share some of my life and my experiences with some of my passions from makeup, beauty and fashion to reading and family life.
This entry was posted in Skincare and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIY: Honey Lemon Mask and Coconut Oil Moisturizer

  1. mariqia says:

    Love natural products. 🙂

    • Sophia says:

      I’m trying to go as natural as possible with all my hair, face, and body products.

      • Airess says:

        Hi Sophia! I am too. I have been successful so far. The only thing I am not sure I will be able to continue with is the all natural toothpaste. For some reason my mouth just doesn’t feel as clean. But I applaud you on trying to go all natural. Let me know if you have any questions about anything. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

